What’s up at four and a half months

Iya’s mini milestones…

February 18, 2009
Eruption of two lower jaw incisors

February 24, 2009
Holds bottle on her own

February 25, 2009
Turned over at will, not by accident trying to find me

It’s been four and a half months of incomplete sleep. I fell asleep during lunch because of exhaustion. The last 15 minutes of lunch was well spent hehe I was not able to finish Claro’s house yet because all the time I have were spent cuddling Iya to sleep. By the time she is, I am so sleepy also.

My schedule (so I can reminisce my mommy mode phase)

5:00 or 5:30 am Iya feeding and finally waking up
6:30 am Breakfast
7:00 or 7:30 am Off to Nanay’s house
7:30 or 8:00 am Off to work
8 am to 5 pm Work
5 pm to 6 pm Travel time or gym every mondays
6 pm to 7 pm Cleansing ceremonies (have to get rid of the germs)
7 to 8 or 9 pm Dinner and lulling Iya to sleep
10 pm Time to sleep
11 pm Time to wake up for feeding
1 am Time to wake up for feeding
3 am Time to wake up for feeding
5 am Another day

As soon as I walk into the room, I feel less tired as the old cliche goes. I can’t help but smile. Last night I walked in and saw her looking (or reading) the small book of colors that I gave her. It was a set of six books that I bought for P/ 250. I was amazed that she was holding the pages and staring intently at the pictures.

I am a little paranoid about raising a child. Since she is my first, I have apprehensions about whether she’ll forget me, or love her lola and yaya more than me. I am out for more than 10 hours because of work and more during mondays and wednesdays. As a lola’s girl, I remember loving my lola more than my nanay when I was little. I was a difficult child then and I know my Nanay had a hard time turning me around when my lola died. I know everything is not permanent and sooner or later her yaya (who is with her during my absence) will decide to leave eventually. That’s the time when she’ll feel abandoned. I just want her to know that I am with her whatever happens.

Given that the time I spend with Iya is not as lengthy as I want to, I still have so many back jobs to do. My thesis is on hold for more than a year, my friend is expecting me to finish his house, another friend has two condo units for me to design, my aunt wants me to redesign her house, and I still have baby duties. I guess I am accustomed to a relaxed life and lately I have a lot to think about.

Leave a Reply

