If I am Julia…

and I am reading this blog, I would probably say that my Nanay feels guilty often and she has loads of free time.

I felt guilt when I made mistakes during the first year because I had no previous experience taking care of another person aside from myself. I taught Sunday School and Vacation Bible School but aside from that I was never in charge of anybody longer than what was necessary. Others may have the opportunity to babysit their brothers, sisters, nephews or nieces, but not I. My mother was a full time mom so I do not have to take care of my little brother. I don’t mind really, I was perfectly happy the way things are. The farther I am from responsibility the better. I hate looking after whiney, noisy, hyperactive kids and I’m scared of holding infants because they might break. When I had you, I was way over my head. I do not know what I would do. I was always comparing myself with others, like your Lola, who is a master. I did not take child rearing classes and was dependent on the experiences of others. I made a lot of mistakes and I know that this is not like art where you can cover things up. I was not a perfectionist and I am not OC so I do not know how to make it right the first time. To top all of these, I think my hormones are zigzagging up and down.

Now, I would like to let go of that feeling and enjoy. Besides, you are growing up wonderfully and I do love all these experiences. Not being perfect made me conscious of every moment of every day.

As for not being busy, it’s the contrary. I have a lot on my mind swirling about and making a big mess. But I know that if I let one memory slip, it will just pass by unremembered. Sometimes I have no proof, may it be a picture or a video, but when I read what we did; I can relive it repeatedly. I want to document the experience and my thoughts so you can see how you made our lives better. How you made an otherwise boring day something special.

One thought on “If I am Julia…

Leave a Reply

