Conversations with Julia

I was reading a book while Iya was playing with her Mickey Mouse stuffed doll when I overheard this phrase. Makes me want to quit my job right then!

Iya: Mickey wag ka iyak kasi di ka iiwan ni nanay. Kasama ka ng nanay mo.

***
She was playing on the bed with while her Lola was watching soap operas when she puts Mickey in her Lolas shirt and said..

Iya: Dala mo na baby mo. Lola kangaroo ka kasama mo baby mo. Tulog na kayo.

***
My Uncle Peter is with us vacationing from the US. She was observing him for a while before saying…

Iya: Wala ka buhok sa taas. Sa baba lang (referring to his full beard).
Lolo Peter: E si uncle?
I: Meron sya buhok sa taas at sa baba.
LP: E si Lolo Leo?
I: Meron sya buhok sa taas pero wala sa baba.
Lola Choly: E si tatay?
I: Wala sya buhok sa tuktok. Wala din sya buhok baba.

***
She was playing with me after dinner. I got the idea to let her slide on my legs so she was happily sliding away. After three slides she said..

Iya: Sabi ni nanay… AAAAAAAHHHHHHH!!! (then laughs out loud!)

She imitates the way I go down the slide complete with shrieks! and to think that happened two months ago!

Leave a Reply

