The Doll house

I have been super busy these past few weekends because I was going through the process of rediscovery — Rediscovery of Sylvanian Families!  I first wrote about my collection last 2012 and it has been two whole years before I decided to set up the doll house including the accessories at home.  I saw her readiness with the way she handled miniatures when we were in Ninang Diane’s house (will write about her toys next time).  
I spent weeks identifying each part and writing them down per box.  It was so tedious because of the small items but it was worth it when I saw her enjoying the house.  I just hope that nothing gets lost!  Most people don’t know about this toy because it’s not as colorful as other popular doll sets.  I remember way before I started collecting that Diane and I were the only ones in that rack.  There even came a time when the brand was discontinued because nobody wanted to buy them here in the Philippines.  That was when I purchased this big doll house because it was at 50% off.  Now with the help of the internet, I have simultaneous browsing with parents and their kids. I see instagram pictures of these cute little animals that makes me want to scream cute all over the place so yeah once you see it you will be hooked. And I’m pretty sure parents are the ones collecting… because honestly a kid cannot buy these on their own.  Each item is meticulously detailed to imitate the real thing.  The furniture has carvings, there are notebooks and newspapers that can be opened and read, and a whole lot more.   Of course, with great work comes great price.  So it is really for collecting.  You can’t buy all the pieces in one visit.
Assembling the dollhouse replaced her “my little ponies” obsession.  She adopted the adorable Periwinkle Rabbit family and guests from the Marmalade Bear family.  There was a whole hour when she says nothing but “Ang cute cute!”  Here’s Iya introducing the family members living in our Oakwood Manor House (pardon the unclear pictures, our bedroom light is yellow).
The master bedroom with mama rabbit on the bed and the living room with papa rabbit on the phone.  The doll house has lights in the five rooms of the house. 

Outside the house there is a space for shops.  The featured shop that time was the doughnut shop and the crepe and waffle shop.  Iya was the one who set up the outdoor dining of papa rabbit and brother rabbit.  She said the girls, the mama and sister rabbit, bought donuts as “pasalubong” for the boys.
Even the sink has a p-trap.  Architects and engineers will both approve.

The sewing set for mama rabbit.  I included the pen for scale.

The kitchen with the appliances, pots, and pans.  The covers are detachable, the cabinets, ref, and drawers can be opened, even the bread can be removed from the toaster.

The other side of the kitchen with the trolley.  It has a thermos, a coffee maker, even a rice cooker.

The view of the stalls and the vegetable patch.  The ice cream cart, the toy wagon, and the crepe shop.

This block set is my favorite.  The pieces can be removed.

And the books even have prints inside.

The interiors.  I placed it on top of Iya’s cabinet. I changed it a bit and also assembled the bakery.

The exterior of the house

2 thoughts on “The Doll house

  1. OMG! Ako rin, parang si Iya, napapa-“ang cute cute!” Thanks for sharing this Nanay. It's really nice that you and Iya are arranging it together. Bonding moment while nurturing her creative mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

