Halloween 2016

We love Halloween!

I stumbled upon our pictures last year while sorting through old photos.  I only got to post one photo in Instagram and it’s not enough tell the whole Halloween Party story…

As usual, I was still thinking about what Iya will wear up to the last minute.   I wanted it to be easy to make, assemble, and wear because I don’t have the time to create a detailed costume.  Jansen was only 10 months around this time and I still lack my sanity.  My options were the ready made ones like the princess dresses, Chinese costume, or her Minnie Mouse Halloween themed dress.  However, I felt that she was over all these and I wanted to try something new.  I suggested that she go as a Starbucks barista instead.  I got the idea from my friend’s daughter who wore this two years back.  I found it so cute and doable that I bought a mini apron in Starbucks right away.  The apron had been in her closet for two years already! Talk about early preparation!  To complete this, I needed a white polo shirt, khaki pants, and black tie that I bought in SM boys wear. When I told her my plan she insisted that Jansen should also wear a costume to match.  She was the one who recommended that we dress him up as a cup.  I searched the internet and found the perfect thing! A white onesie painted with the logo and wrapped by a brown cup sleeve.  I got the brown cloth from my mom’s sewing box, asked Henry to buy a green fabric paint and got to work on Jansen’s costume.

IMG_1730
The Starbucks Barista and the Cup!

We spent Halloween in Uncle Ryan and Ninong Marty’s place where they had a party on the roof deck.  Iya, being her usual participative self, enjoyed all the games.  Henry on the other hand, enjoyed all the food haha! And in the end all my sort of hard work (since I bought her costume anyways) paid off — literally.  Iya won third place in Best in Costume and won a cash prize.

We then went door to door in the building where Jansen enjoyed smiling at the home owners and getting candies.  It was so tiring! And to think we only finished half the floors.  So this year we have a plan, which we shall name – divide and conquer!  My cousin will also live in the building so it will be double the fun with her little girl.

It’s already June.  Only 5 months to go!

Leave a Reply

